Workshop 2: New Age, New Step—In Between: A Relay Storytelling Game of the Noble Eightfold Path

A talk by Dr. Juyarn Tsai

December 28, 2021, 09:00 AM

Have you booked your place yet?

By submitting your email you agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement
Book my place

About this talk

Malaysia/Taipei: Dec 28, 5:00-6:30 pm

Seoul: Dec 28, 6:00-7:30 pm

Jakarta/Bangkok: Dec 28, 4:00-5:30 pm

Colombo/Delhi: Dec 28, 2:30-4:00 pm

Sydney: Dec 28, 8:00-9:30 pm

Hawai‘i: Dec 27-28, 11:00 pm-12:30 am

LA/Seattle: Dec 28, 1:00-2:30 am

NY/Detroit: Dec 28, 4:00-5:30 am EST.

London: Dec 28, 9:00-10:30 am

Dubai: Dec 28, 1:00-2:30 pm

This session is limited to 50 attendees.

In the 21 century, a changeable new age, we need new thinking and new way to advocate the wisdom of Buddha. The workshop is on Buddhist Literature and will be presented as a relay storytelling game of the Noble Eightfold Path. This storytelling game discusses the value and meaning of community and focuses on how values are embodied in literary and educational traditions. It will address value-laden concepts such as honesty, commitment, media, rights, equality, love, karma, imagination, and magic reverence. It will also prompt participants to reflect on the ways in which the value orientation of a person is not only affected by their personality but by their social and environmental contexts as well. The Buddha was a good storyteller; storytelling was one of the key teaching methods of the Buddha. This workshop will discuss the ways in which the Buddha conveyed the Dharma through stories and how we, as Buddhist practitioners, can adapt original creation to transmit the wisdom of Buddhism. Literature is always the best media to share the Dharma.person “A two-headed bird” was a story told by Buddha: Once upon a time, there was a bird with two heads. The white head was responsible and the black one was unreasonable. It was always the white one that found the food and asked the black one to enjoy it with him. One day, the black head said…