Workshop 3: Sustaining Peace through Global Interfaith and Intercultural Dialogues in Won Buddhism

Have you booked your place yet?

By submitting your email you agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement
Book my place

About this talk

Malaysia/Taipei: Dec 29, 8:00-9:30 am

Seoul: Dec 29, 9:00-10:30 am

Jakarta/Bangkok: Dec 29, 7:00-8:30 am

Colombo/Delhi: Dec 29, 5:30-7:00 am

Sydney: Dec 29-30, 11:00 am-12:30 pm

Hawai‘i: Dec 28, 2:00-3:30 pm

LA/Seattle: Dec 28, 4:00-5:30 pm

NY/Detroit: Dec 28, 7:00-8:30 pm

London: Dec 29, 12:00-1:30 am

Dubai: Dec 29, 4:00-5:30 am

(Maximum of 20 attendees for this session)

In order to develop a world community, we have to develop and cultivate our mind. The greatest obstacles to building a world community are excessive greed, anger, and delusion. It is unthinkable to build a world community without our mind playing a major role. In order to develop and cultivate the mind of mankind, we have to expand and spread the spiritual training to all people of the world via interfaith communities, so that they may foster the mind of giving, awaken to their original nature, and nurture humble and compassionate attitudes.
Won Buddhism has been advocating for the establishment of an interfaith movement for over 50 years, encouraged by the teachings and visions of the 3rd Head Dharma Master the Venerable Daesan. A more ideal world could be formed if the United Nations and religions of the world were able to cooperate harmoniously, like a mother and father making a happy home. This workshop will propose how interfaith and intercultural dialogue could help to bring prolonged peace between the United States, the two Koreas, and all countries in the world based upon our experiences. Humanitarian dialogues should aim to cut through internal political chaos and international proxy competition to make it possible for peace to prevail. (Each of the 3 presenters will share a different setting of their interfaith dialogue experience.)